

## The University Boat Race 2007

Sponsored by



An exiting three days of racing was held on Kowie River at Port Alfred where South African Universities competed to win this prestigious event. Rhodes University continued their dominance of the event winning 3 of the 4 events including both men's and women's A division races.

Although all events were very closely contested, the races began with time heads racing enabling the 30 plus crews to be seeded into Oxford/Cambridge style two boat racing - men 6.2 Km and women over 4.2 km. The Kowie River has a number of bends which makes for exiting rowing and the umpires had a difficult job in view of the large waves which swamped boats at times.

Novice events were introduced for the first time this year in an attempt to grow University rowing in South Africa. The overall winners were the University of Fort Hare. The NMMU Novices did well to win the Women's division.

The winners of the men's event were Rhodes University who battled it out in a hard fought race with the University of Pretoria. The University of Johannesburg and Stellenbosch University battled for 3<sup>rd</sup> spot with the University of Johannesburg proving just too strong in the end.

The winner's of the women's event were Rhodes University followed by the University of the Witwatersrand. The University of Johannesburg beat the University of Cape Town to claim 3<sup>rd</sup> place.

Overall an excellent regatta was had by all with Rhodes dominance of the event under threat by the ever increasing level of competition from all the other Universities. The Boatrace 2008 promises to be full of surprises with no one willing to bet on who will claim the title.

TROPHY WINNERS		
Most Improved		
Men	University of Pretoria	
Women	University of Cape Town	
Novices		
Men	University of fort Hare	
Women	Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University	
Men's B Division	University of Stellenbosch	
Ladies B Division	Rhodes University	
Men's A Division	Rhodes University	
Women's A Division	Rhodes University	

The results of the Finals are tabulated below:

	MEN'S A FINALS		
1	Rhodes University	18.54.99	
2	University of Pretoria	19.00.86	
3	University of Johannesburg	22.26.82	
4	University of Stellenbosch	22.42.80	
5	University of the Witwatersrand	17.39.07	
6	University of Pietermaritzburg	17.55.02	
7	University of Cape Town	17.55.43	
8	Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University	18.32.13	
	,		
WOMEN'S A FINALS			
1	Rhodes University	14.45.33	
2	University of the Witwatersrand	15.05.19	
3	University of Johannesburg	15.16.37	
4	University of Cape Town	16.02.93	
5	University of Stellenbosch	13.54.76	
6	University of Pietermaritzburg	14.19.33	
7	Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University	14.24.52	
8	Fort Hare University	15.06.82	
	MEN'S B FINALS		
1	University of Stellenbosch	18.34.59	
2	Rhodes University	18.35.77	
3	University of Johannesburg	23.05.20	
4	University of Pretoria	24.09.46	
5	Fort Hare University - East London	23.42.90	
6	University of the Witwatersrand	24.06.14	
7	University of Cape Town	25.00.26	
8	University of Pietermaritzburg	26.53.28	
9	University of Durban	27.03.56	
10	University of Durban/Pietermaritzburg	24.28.05	
11	Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University	25.23.62	
	WOMEN'S B FINAL		
1	Rhodes University	14.48.10	
2	University of the Witwatersrand	15.13.43	
3	University of Johannesburg	19.42.76	
4	University of Stellenbosch	21.57.56	
NOVICES			
1		05.30.80	
2	Fort Hare University A Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University	06.05.87	
3	University of Johannesburg/Fort Hare University	06.05.87	
4	Fort Hare/NMMU	07.00.11	
4	FUIT Hate/INIVIIVIU	07.00.11	