

Rowing Club

USSA Boatrace Results

11th – 13th September 2008

The Mutual and Federal Universities Boatrace began on the Kowie River in Port Alfred on Thursday 11th and ended on Saturday 13th September with the finals. The boat race is the highlight on the University rowing calendar, the only event of its kind in South Africa which attracts the best student rowers from around the country. Over 300 rowers participated in this years event, making it one of the largest ever.

The University of the Witwatersrand dominated the event this year, winning both the Men's and Ladies' A division finals. The University of Stellenbosch B crew defended their trophy beating the University of Johannesburg crew in the B final with Rhodes University finishing 3rd. The Rhodes University Women's B crew dominated their race beating University of Johannesburg B crew by a clear 2 minutes winning back the trophy that they won last year.

The NMMU team continued to make improvements over the past seasons results. The Men's A VIII was unlucky not to make the B final missing out by less than 10 seconds. The Ladies A crew finished the heats with a respectable 7th fastest time and the Men's B VIII managed an excellent hard fought 8th out of twelve.

In their final the NMMU B VIII came up against Tuks. It turned out to be a very exciting race with the lead changing several times. The crews were neck and neck up to the final 1000m where Tuks pulled ahead by half a boat length and were just able to hold on to claim 7th place.

In a controversial race for 7th, 8th and 9th place the Ladies A VIII faced crews from Fort Hare and Pietermaritzburg. The NMMU VIII were leading comfortably down the Caravan Park straight but at the corner going into the Bay of Biscay, Pietermaritzburg were able to catch up and there was a clash of blades. After this NMMU never managed to recover and were unable to keep the pace and ended up with 8th place although they still beat Fort Hare.

It was then the Men's A VIII turn to take to the water. They were fighting it out in a three boat final for 5th, 6th and 6th place against Rhodes and UCT. Rhodes took and early lead and NMMU were unable to match their pace. Rhodes ran out eventual winners although only by one boat length. Both NMMU and Rhodes finished considerably ahead of UCT.

Overall Boatrace 2008 turned out to be a great success with NMMU making considerable strides forward although still not reaching the high standards the Club sets for itself. Thanks must go out to Rhodes University for hosting such a well planned and organized event.

David Pearton Chairman

NMMU Rowing Club

HEADS RACES - Thursday 11 September

MENS A		<u>TIME</u>	
1 2 3 4 5 6 7	University of Witwatersrand A University of Johannesburg A University of Pretoria A University of Stellenbosch A Rhodes University A Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University A University of Cape Town A	17:16:05 17:43:07 17:57:43 18:05:26 18:18:12 18:19:82 18:32:01	
MENS B			
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12	University of Stellenbosch B University of Johannesburg B Rhodes University B University of Witwatersrand B University of Kwazulu-Natal A University of Fort Hare A University of Pretoria B Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University B University of Cape Town B University of Stellenbosch C University of Fort Hare B University of Kwazulu-Natal B	20:13:11 21:02:84 21:24:31 21:27:11 22:37:13 22:59:35 24:11:51 24:14:69 24:30:31 25:50:45 26:03:18 31:05:27	
WOMENS A			
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	University of Witwatersrand A Rhodes University A University of Johannesburg A University of Pretoria A University of Cape Town A University of Stellenbosch A Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University A University of Kwazulu-Natal A University of Fort Hare A	13:49:00 14:00:92 14:52:43 15:04:97 15:23:83 15:49:12 16:59:87 17:05:79 17:57:06	
WOMENS B			
1 2 3 4	Rhodes University B University of Johannesburg B University of Stellenbosch B University of Kwazulu-Natal B	15:36:32 17:23:67 17:48:56 24:16:73	
NOVICES			
1 2 1 2	University of Fort Hare A University of Johannesburg University of Fort Hare B University of Kwazulu-Natal	04:41:30 04:51:90 04:29:40 05:53:80	

FINALS: Friday 12 September and Saturday 13 September

MENS A		<u>TIME</u>	
1 2 3 4 5 6 7	University of Witwatersrand A University of Johannesburg A University of Pretoria A University of Stellenbosch A Rhodes University A Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University A University of Cape Town A	18:25:00 18:51:83 20:10:94 20:35:63 19:32:23 20:02:92 20:40:86	
MENS B			
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11	University of Stellenbosch B University of Johannesburg B Rhodes University B University of Witwatersrand B University of Kwazulu-Natal A University of Fort Hare A University of Pretoria B Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University B University of Cape Town B University of Stellenbosch C University of Fort Hare B University of Kwazulu-Natal B	20:45:52 21:12:73 20:25:36 20:55:70 22:47:19 23:23:65 25:31:51 26:07:13 25:01:53 27:03:48 30:04:24 34:41:16	
WOMENS A			
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	University of Witwatersrand A Rhodes University A University of Johannesburg A University of Pretoria A University of Cape Town A University of Stellenbosch A University of Kwazulu-Natal A Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University A University of Fort Hare A	15:00:30 15:13:21 16:06:03 16:55:75 16:40:38 18:56:67 16:43:54 17:49:44 18:12:73	
WOMENS B			
1 2 3 4	Rhodes University B University of Johannesburg B University of Stellenbosch B University of Kwazulu-Natal B	17:48:39 19:10:53 19:30:26 25:56:83	
NOVICES: MEN			
1 2	University of Fort Hare A University of Fort Hare B	04:03:31 DNR	
NOVICES: WOMEN			
1 2	University of Johannesburg University of Kwazulu-Natal	04:41:43 22:31:18	

TROPHIES

BEST DRESSED AT FINAL DINNER

Men's - Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University Women's - Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

MOST IMPROVED

Men's - University of Witwatersrand A Women's - University of Pretoria A

NOVICES

Men's - University of Fort Hare A Women's - University of Johannesburg

MENS B - The Leslie Gearing Prow

The winners - University of Stellenbosch B

WOMENS B

The winners - Rhodes University B

MENS A - The Cambridge Rudder

The winners - University of Witwatersrand A

WOMENS A - The Isis Blade

The winners - University of Witwatersrand A